Induction of Atty. Bacorro as PBA president

MARLAW trustees attended the  induction  ceremonies  of former MARLAW president Atty. Benjie Bacorro as the president of the Philippine Bar Association (PBA) for 2017 to 2018. MARLAW members in the PBA  board of trustees include Atty. Joseph Manolo Rebano and Atty.  Ian Malilong while Atty. Antonio Velicaria is part of the Council of Advisers. MARLAW  Trustee Atty. Beatriz Geronilla-Villegas was also inducted as new PBA member. The Philippine Bar Association is the oldest voluntary national organization of lawyers in the Philippines. It traces its roots to the Colegio de Abogados de Filipinas organized on April 8, 1891 and the bar association organized by American lawyers in the Philippines in 1900.

Other MARLAW presidents that became PBA presidents include :

Atty. Eugene Tan (MARLAW:1986-87 – PBA: 1987-88)

Atty. Arturo del Rosario,Jr  (MARLAW:1996-97 – PBA: 1987-88)

Atty. Antonio Velicaria (MARLAW: 1990-91 – PBA: 1997-98)

Atty. Beda Fajardo (MARLAW:1987-88 – PBA: 2013-14)


Harana Sa Inang Dagat

Maritime Law Association of the Philippines MARLAWPh  co-organized the “Harana Sa Inang Dagat”, a sunset environmental concert featuring the Philippine Coast Guard band as part of the celebration of the 22nd National Seafarers Day  and 18th Maritime Week in coordination with the Apostleship of the Sea (AOS) . The  event pays homage to the oceans and seas for the safe voyage of our Pinoy seafarers.