Induction of Atty. Bacorro as PBA president

MARLAW trustees attended the  induction  ceremonies  of former MARLAW president Atty. Benjie Bacorro as the president of the Philippine Bar Association (PBA) for 2017 to 2018. MARLAW members in the PBA  board of trustees include Atty. Joseph Manolo Rebano and Atty.  Ian Malilong while Atty. Antonio Velicaria is part of the Council of Advisers. MARLAW  Trustee Atty. Beatriz Geronilla-Villegas was also inducted as new PBA member. The Philippine Bar Association is the oldest voluntary national organization of lawyers in the Philippines. It traces its roots to the Colegio de Abogados de Filipinas organized on April 8, 1891 and the bar association organized by American lawyers in the Philippines in 1900.

Other MARLAW presidents that became PBA presidents include :

Atty. Eugene Tan (MARLAW:1986-87 – PBA: 1987-88)

Atty. Arturo del Rosario,Jr  (MARLAW:1996-97 – PBA: 1987-88)

Atty. Antonio Velicaria (MARLAW: 1990-91 – PBA: 1997-98)

Atty. Beda Fajardo (MARLAW:1987-88 – PBA: 2013-14)


West Philippine Sea forum

The Maritime Law Association of the Philippines ( MARLAWPh) collaboration with the Adamson University – and AdU-PULITKA held a forum on the West Philippine Sea / South China Sea Dispute at Adamson University last august 24,2017.

Supreme Court (SC) Senior Associate Justice Antonio T. Carpio led a comprehensive discussion on the importance of the ruling of the arbitral tribunal last July 12, 2016, which has favored the Philippines, with 80% of the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) of the country being at stake after China’s ‘Nine-dashed line’ claim.

The lecture was followed by the reactors Jose Antonio Custodio – a security and defense consultant – and former Bayan Muna Representative Teddy Casiño, both shared their insights on the PH-China sea dispute. political analyst Prof. Richard Javad Heydarian made a short dialogue with Justice Carpio, and was followed by an open forum.

On the latter part of the event, Justice Carpio led the oath-taking of the new MARLAW members.